4 local students chosen to Congressional Youth Cabinet

Submitted information | For The Arkadelphian

LITTLE ROCK U.S. Senator John Boozman (R-AR) launched the sixth year of his Congressional Youth Cabinet on Thursday, meeting with 52 Arkansas high school students selected from public, private and charter schools across the state.

The following local students were selected from Arkansas’ Fourth Congressional District: Anna Sutton (Amity), Emilee Young (Arkadelphia), Anaiya Ford (Arkadelphia), and Mychia Leatherwood (Arkadelphia). There were 10 other students chosen in the district, from Hot Springs, Pine Bluff, Mena, Ashdown, Sheridan, Hatfield and White Hall.

“It is exciting to again convene young leaders who are interested in getting involved and making a difference in their schools and communities,” Boozman said. “We had a record number of applicants this year and I am pleased so many students want to learn about public service and how to help shape the future of Arkansas and our country.”

The Congressional Youth Cabinet is a non-partisan program that gives students insight and experience in the legislative process. The high school juniors will attend meetings throughout the year and work in teams to research national issues they select. In April, the groups will present their policy recommendations to the senator.

Students submitted applications to participate and were chosen with an emphasis on community involvement and leadership. 

Categories: People

Tagged as: