City & County

Early voting begins Monday; 5 local positions to be decided in primary

By Joel Phelps
The Arkadelphian

Early voting in the primary election begins Monday, May 9, throughout Clark County.

Prior to entering the booth to cast a ballot, voters will be given three options to choose from: Republican, Democrat or Non-Partisan. Open school board positions and Arkansas Supreme Court will be on any ballot chosen. Voters have the option of reviewing the ballot prior to entering the booth. 

This primary election will determine five Clark County positions:

Mona Vance (R)
Erin Arnold (R)

District 6 Justice of the Peace
Mark Overturf (R)
Johnny Ledbetter (R)

District 10 Justice of the Peace
Wayne Baumgardner (R-incumbent)
Darin Robbins (R)

District 11 Justice of the Peace
Ricky Arnold (R-incumbent)
Tracy Ellis Drake (R)

Arkadelphia School Board Zone 1
Matt Johnson
Sharon H. Adams
Casey Motl (incumbent)

There are two local state legislature positions to be decided as well:

Arkansas Senate District 03
Alderman Steve Crowell (R)
Sen. Charles Beckham (R)

State Representative District 90
Rep. Richard Womack (R)
Alan Floyd (R)

Sample ballots and voter assistance
Check out everything you need to know about your ballot and polling sites before heading out to the polls by visiting Just enter your name and date of birth and click “Look Up.”

The Clark County Clerk’s Office will be have a clerk to answer voters’ questions by phoning 870-246-4491. A clerk will be available after normal courthouse hours, from 4:30-6 p.m. Monday through Friday.

When and where to vote
Early voting will be available at the Arkadelphia Recreation Center, 2555 Twin Rivers Dr., and held Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. until 6 p.m., and from 10 a.m. until 4 p.m. on two Saturdays, May 14 and 21. Early voting will end at 5 p.m. on Monday, May 23.

Leave a Reply