Badger Pride awards given at school board meeting

Alternative Learning Environment staffers were recognized for providing an alternative path to graduation for Arkadelphia students. Pictured, from left, Haley Green, Eric Lewis and Darrell Middleton. Not pictured is Judith Davis.
Ross Foundation‘s Ross Whipple is pictured with school board member Clark Tennyson. The Ross Foundation donated bleeding control kits to the district in the event of an emergency event.
Joshua LeVar was awarded the Arkansas Advanced Placement Computer Science A Incentive Program. Under this program, Arkansas public school students and
schools were eligible to receive a monetary incentive when the student earned one computer science flex credit for successfully completing an AP Computer Science A course and received a qualifying score on the AP exam taken between Aug. 1, 2020, and May 30, 2021. LeVar, a senior, had a qualifying score of 5 on the AP Computer Science A exam and will receive $1,000, with the school receiving $250.
School resource officer DeWayne Ward was recognized for having a great relationship with Arkadelphia High School students and staff, and for ensuring a safe environment on campus.
School board member Blake Bell was recognized for a certificate of boardsmanship following the 2021 Arkansas School Board Association fall regional meetings. Bell has completed six hours of ASBA new board member institute; three hours of ASBA regional meeting; two hours of additional ASBA hour in each of the following areas: finance, governance, legal and student achievement; and eight hours of ASBA electives. Bell is pictured with Superintendent Karla Neathery.
Athletic trainer Brandon Shrum, left, was recognized for going above and beyond his duties. Not only does he attend all sporting events for Arkadelphia Public Schools, but he also takes care of athletes on the other side of the field or court if that team does not have a medical professional on staff.
AHS Choir was nominated by Mrs. Fowler, who recently recorded each student’s individual performance and submitted them for the Treble All-Region Honor Choir. The students were selected for the All-Region Choir and performed on Nov. 13 in Benton. Pictured are Bre Currey, left, and Nancy Miller. Not pictured are Zoé Davis, Mariah Rutherford and Katherine Balch.
Arkadelphia Public Schools coaches were recognized for National Coaches Day. Pictured are Trey Schucker, Bobby Evans, Brian Gibson, Dustin Grimmet, Ben Chandler, Andrew Steely, Melanie Bobo, Mark Coon, Jenny Coon and Andrew Loe.
Colin Phillips was recognized for being named a National Merit semifinalist.
Greg Lathem was recognized for volunteering his time every morning at Perritt Primary School to help with ensuring all students are safe when arriving to school. Not only does he help keep all students safe, he uses the time to encourage every single student who walks in the building to have a great day. “We appreciate Brother Greg for his continued support for our students and staff at Perritt Primary and couldn’t be more thankful to have him as part of our team,” said Kimberly Ellison, award sponsor.
The Arkadelphia High School Badgers tennis team competed in the state tennis tournament. Pictured are Ross Womack, Tyler Bobo, Spencer Allen, Mason McKinney, Carson Lewis and Brandon Dickey.