Ouachita to host Wind Ensemble Oct. 25

By Madison McGhee  
OBU News Bureau 

ARKADELPHIA — Ouachita Baptist University’s Wind Ensemble will present its fall concert Monday, Oct. 25, at 7:30 p.m. in Jones Performing Arts Center. The concert is free and open to the public. Audience members must wear masks inside JPAC, in accordance with university COVID-19 policy. 

“It has been an absolute joy to work with the Wind Ensemble this semester. Dr. Craig Hamilton is on sabbatical, so he graciously asked me to direct this wonderful group of musicians,” said Jim Lloyd, instructor of music and athletic band director at Ouachita. “We have prepared a unique concert that features guest soloists and a variety of combinations of wind and percussion instruments.”  

There are 33 students in Ouachita’s Wind Ensemble. The concert will feature seven songs Lloyd described as “full of instrumental colors,” beginning with “Anti-Fanfare” By Andrew Blair, followed by “Serenade, Op. 22” by Derek Bourgeois and “Movement V: Evening Snow at Kambara” from Symphony No. IV: Bookmarks from Japan by Julie Giroux.  

Next, they will perform “Handel in the Strand” by Percy Grainger, arranged by John Phillip Sousa and “Goodnight Moon” by Eric Whitacre, arranged by Verena Mosenbichler-Bryant and based on the classic children’s book of the same name by Margaret Wise Brown. They will conclude concert with “Movement I: Adagio, Allegro” from Petite Symphonie by Charles Gounod, “Salvation is Created” by Pavel Chesnokov and arranged by Bruce Houseknecht and “Vesuvius” by Frank Ticheli, a piece that evokes the last days of Pompeii in AD 79.  

Guest artists include Dr. Carlos Feller, visiting assistant professor of music, on alto flute for Giroux’s “Evening Snow at Kambara” and Kara Claybrook, visiting professor of music, as vocalist for “Goodnight Moon.” Ouachita’s Concert Choir will perform with the band for “Salvation is Created.” 

For more information, contact Jim Lloyd at or (870) 245-4197.  

BASS CLARINET: Jaelen Becho, Sam Youmans 
BASSOON: Cross Brandon 
CLARINET: Lane Dunman, Hanah Green, Cora Saddler, Taryn Toles, Ashton Tumlinson 
EUPHONIUM: Will Gordey 
FLUTE: Katie Carroll, Destiny Diaz, Emma Gregory, Brailee Price, Skylar Schaffer 
HORN: Holli Barger, Kaitlyn Campbell, Jacob Emmons, Isabella Owen 
OBOE: Emma Rouse, Brock Wade 
PERCUSSION: Jenna Barnes, Braden Crawley, Carly Hall, Katie McManus 
SAXOPHONE: Craig Crawford, Caden McClain, Lexi Peck, Katelyn Still, Josh Sutton 
TROMBONE: Nicholas Erickson, Tyler Hancock 
TUBA: Dr. Daniel Stull, adjunct professor of low brass