City & County

Arkadelphia site of city managers meeting

Arkadelphia was home for a couple days to all of the city managers in Arkansas.

The Clark County seat is hosting the Arkansas City Managers Association meeting April 20-22. The city managers and their support staff — a group of about 30 total — have been taking part in professional workshops at Fairfield Inn & Suites. On Thursday the group was treated to lunch at DeSoto Bluff.

Arkansas city managers and their staffers pause for a photo during a lunch workshop Thursday at DeSoto Bluff. Photo by Joel Phelps/The Arkadelphian

Arkadelphia City Manager Gary Brinkley is the current president of the association.

Arkadelphia is one of eight cities in the state of Arkansas governed by a city manager form of government. Just like a mayor otherwise would, the city manager oversees the day-to-day operations of city government. Unlike a mayor, a city manager answers to the City Board of Directors, a group of unpaid members elected by citizens of their ward and/or city.

Read more about the city manager form of government here.

Arkansas municipalities with the city manager form of government are:

• Arkadelphia

• Barling

• Fort Smith

• Hope

• Hot Springs

• Little Rock

• Texarkana

• Siloam Springs

Categories: City & County

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply