Faculty, staff at OBU recognized for combined 720 years of service

By Felley Lawson 
OBU News Bureau

ARKADELPHIA — Faculty and staff marking from 10 to 40 years of service to Ouachita Baptist University were recognized during a January 18 meeting on campus. Service awards were presented by Jason Tolbert, chief financial officer; Sherri Phelps, director of human resources; and Kathy Green, payroll & fringe benefits specialist. 

“Our institutional commitments and our highly personalized approach to students’ academic progress, personal development and spiritual growth distinguish Ouachita from all public universities and most private colleges,” said Dr. Ben R. Sells, Ouachita president. “Our faculty and staff help set us apart by making time to know, encourage, challenge and support our students. Their loyalty fosters a campus community that makes Ouachita, Ouachita.”  

Faculty and staff who received service awards, listed by years of service to Ouachita, are:  

10 years 

  • John Briggs, lecturer in music 
  • Maurice Davis, custodian 
  • Dennis Nutt, head men’s basketball coach 
  • Dr. Rachel Pool, associate professor of education 
  • Nicole Porchia, director of the Academic Success Center 
  • Ferris Williams, associate professor of art and design  

15 years 

  • Dr. Marshall Horton, Regions Bank Professor of Economics and Finance 
  • Servanda Jacinto, custodian 
  • Culley Majors, HVAC/mechanical 
  • Dr. Kevin Motl, interim dean of the Sutton School of Social Sciences, professor of history and holder of the R. Voyt Hill Chair of History 
  • Coleman Rogers, carpenter 
  • Brett Shockley, assistant football coach 
  • James Taylor, director of campus ministries 

20 years  

  • Dr. Lei Cai, professor of music 
  • Karen Clark, custodian 
  • Dr. John Cox, associate professor of marketing and holder of the Harvey Jones Chair of Marketing 
  • Daren Crow, electrical/mechanical 
  • Del Hancock, electrical/mechanical/plumbing/HVAC supervisor 
  • Dr. Tim Hayes, professor of chemistry and holder of the E.A. Provine Chair of Chemistry 
  • Dr. Rob Hewell, professor of music and director of online learning initiatives 
  • Dr. Marvin Pate, Elma Cobb Professor of Christian Theology 
  • Dr. Barbara Pemberton, professor of Christian missions and director of the Carl Goodson Honors Program 
  • Marsha Whalen, administrative assistant in the School of Humanities 

25 years 

  • Darin Buscher, assistant professor of mathematics 
  • Stacy Freeman, associate professor of dietetics 
  • Dr. Patrick Houlihan, professor of music 
  • Dr. Anping Wu, interim director of library services, professor and catalog librarian 

30 years 

  • Harrell Beckwith, stockroom clerk in the Patterson School of Natural Sciences 
  • Dr. Terry Carter, associate dean of the Pruet School of Christian Studies, W.O. Vaught Professor of Christian Ministries and director of the Horne Center for Biblical Preaching 
  • Teresa Jones, administrative assistant for TRIO Programs 
  • Carol Morgan, associate professor of communication sciences and disorders 
  • Dr. Jeff Root, dean of the School of Humanities and the Huckabee School of Education and professor of communications 
  • Dr. Lewis Shepherd, vice president for community and intercultural engagement 

35 years 

  • Dr. Randall Wight, professor of psychology and biology 

40 years 

  • Jim Rothwell, assistant dean of the Hickingbotham School of Business and assistant professor of accounting