News & History

Scott named Clark County Republican chair

Submitted information | For The Arkadelphian

At the January meeting of the Clark County Republican Committee, officers were elected to serve for 2023 – 2024. The newly elected officers are: Chairman, Jenna Scott; 1st Vice Chairman, Eddie Arnold; 2nd Vice Chairman, Cassie Gonzales; Secretary, Kevin Wood; Treasurer, Mike Martin; and Election Commissioners, Nancy Anderson and Fred Phillips.

Pictured, from left, are Fred Phillips, Nancy Anderson, Mike Martin, Cassie Gonzales, Jenna Scott, Eddie Arnold and Kevin Wood. | Submitted photo

Scott, the newly elected Chairman stated, “I became involved in the Clark County Republican Committee because I saw the need to support candidates who shared my beliefs. The more involved I became, the more I realized that the conservative principals this Country was founded on are disappearing.

“We as individuals have a responsibility to engage in our government, pay attention to things that are happening, respectfully make our opinions known, and support those candidates who share the principals that we believe are important,” Scott continued. “For us to keep a government ‘of the people, by the people, and for the people,’ we the people must be involved. We have made a lot of progress in Clark County under the leadership of Eddie Arnold.”

Due to Party rules, Arnold is term-limited and not eligible to continue serving as chairman. Scott said the Party wishes to “to “keep the momentum and continue to grow and support conservative candidates.”

Arnold will continue to be involved and said he is willing to serve a term as 1st Vice Chairman to ensure a smooth transition. He also serves as the 4th District Chairman.

Those interested in learning more about CCRC or joining are invited to come to the next meeting, February 20, 6:30 p.m., at The Plaza. For more information, call Scott at 870-220-2987.